Vegan Cooking with Jules: Spicy Green Beans

I’m becoming a regular foodie while staying with the parents!  The thrill of having a kitchen for stress-relieving cooking sprees has hit me hard.  That’s why I insisted Mom had to grab a basket of green beans at the neighborhood produce market so I could try this recipe I’d found.

I don’t have a problem.  I can stop whenever I want.

Anyway, so I found Domestic Superhero‘s recipe for Copycat PF Chang’s Spicy Green Beans on Pinterest.  Confession:  I’ve never been to PF Chang’s.  BUT, I practically grew up on Chinese food.  A close family friend owns a local buffet and some of my best memories take place at her tables.  The distinctly Chines take-out green beans were always one of my favourites.  This recipe looked reminiscent and I was biting at the bit to try it!

So, with a few adjustments, I did.

DS’s recipe called for 2 chopped green onions, 1 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes, 4 minced garlic cloves, 2 tbsp sesame oil, and 1 tbsp rice vinegar.  Instead, I substituted a generous sprinkle of table seasoning (first ingredient:  onion), about double the red pepper flakes, a whopping tablespoon of minced garlic, olive oil, and white vinegar.  In the first three cases, this was primarily a matter of preference and experimentation (I really like spice, can you tell?), and the latter two were more so convenience.  It’s a bit more Americanized this way, and probably a LOT more salty with the seasoning rather than the freshly chopped onions, but it was delicious nevertheless!

 

IMG_20160516_140125

Plus, this gave me an excuse to try out the mini tongs that came with my whisk!

 

I cooked the whole things a bit longer than the recipe called for just to ensure the beans sucked up maximum saucy goodness.  While I intended for the batch to last me a few days, I can’t say there’s much of a serving left!

 

IMG_20160516_141045

In short, these were delicious.  I may have to try, as one commenter inquired, making this with frozen green beans next time, to make the process even faster and more convenient!

Visit Domestic Superhero for more deliciousness, and check out #vegancookingwithjules on Instagram for more delicious images!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Cooking with Jules: Spicy Green Beans

Share your TO&E!