Life Itself.

“Education is not preparation for life;  education is life itself.” -John Dewey

I’m an unabashed proponent of education, despite the governmental flaws in the system I’ve personally been through.  Today, though, I’m not going to rant about the education system;  I’m going to give it a bit of credit.

Since my earliest days, my mom has joked that I’m going to be a student eternally.  So far, I’ve continued continuing my education, so she’s been pretty spot-on;  haven’t been quite sold on grad school just yet, but we’ll see.

Nowadays, it seems that every other person (especialy of the next few generations beneath me, though I don’t want to stereotype them all) thinks that people are better off without a formal education.  Years ago, it was the image of the street-smart greaser;  now, it’s the gangsta who can get all his answers on the internet.

lincoln_internet_quote

Image via relatably.com

A “real” education saves you from looking like an idiot—it teaches you the difference between affect and effect and their there and they’re.

A “real” education gives you a chance in the horrendous job market that America seems to be stuck in (if you can get the loans paid off, that is).

A “real” education is the modern equivalent of the American Dream.  It’s what minorities have fought for for decades, and it shouldn’t be taken for granted.

I’m not saying that every student needs to be as gung-ho as myself, nor does everyone need a PhD (not every needs a college degree, for crying out loud.  Vocational-technical programs are every bit as important, if not more so, whatever society may seem to say.

So go thank a teacher.  Thank Mom and Dad for putting you through school.  Take a moment to be grateful for your education;  there are people throughout history and throughout the modern world who would kill for it.

Share your TO&E!

