Why I’m Okay with Being a Lifestyle Blog

Since the start of TO&E, I’ve looked into blogging advice every once in awhile—whether I pointedly seek it out or something pops up in my Pinterest feed, there’s some amazing stuff out there!  But one point comes up time and time again that I cannot bring myself to agree with:

“Find your niche!”

To hear some of this advice, it’s as if you find your niche and all is instantaneously right in the world:  you’ll have monstrous numbers of readers, unlimited followers, and all the support system in the world.

According to this theory, a general “lifestyle” blog is practically a curse for your site.  You won’t draw in loyal readers, you won’t have your “tribe,” and life will generally suck.

coffee-desk-laptop-notebook

Image via pexels.com

But you know what?  I love my generic pseudo-niche.  I love that I can write about my life, and whatever happens to be going on in it at that moment.  Being in college narrows it down a bit, and probably makes it more relatable to prospective readers, given my target audience being generally college-aged.

I love the community of other lifestyle bloggers,  of other college bloggers.  I love the opportunities that are offered to me because I’m not limited by some specifc niche.  I love the freedom to write something serious one week, then elaborate how much I love squirrels the next.

8 thoughts on “Why I’m Okay with Being a Lifestyle Blog

  1. Alyssa says:

    I’ve always loved being a lifestyle blog, it leaves so many doors open for post opportunities and allows people to see all that goes on in your life. This was a great post, and I think that it’s important to always remain true to your goals and mission and never stray just because you think you should 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sheri says:

    I think you are right. I blog about life, motivation and travel and I keep getting told to “find my niche!”, I have too much in my head to only write about one topic. I would love to join a lifestyles bloggers community and one with college bloggers if you can introduce me to any i would love that!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Roxy says:

    Love! I’ve been blogging on and off for years because I could never figure out “my niche.” Finally decided that I’ll blog about whatever I want to and it’s definitely liberating. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your TO&E!

