Vegan Cooking with Jules: Black Bean Burgers

I cooked up a huge batch of black beans a few days ago and honestly ran out of meal ideas—you can only have variants of rice and beans so many times in a row before it gets to be a bit much!

Enter Pinterest.  Black bean burgers seemed the way to go!  Of course, I was lacking some important ingredient in every recipe I found.  After browsing enough, though, I realized I had enough working knowledge to test it out for myself!

And so, I set out to make my very own veggie burger recipe:  just a tad daunting.

IMG_3607

The end product was a bit softer than I would have liked, but the flavor was AMAZING.

Try it out for yourself and see what you think!

*A lot of these amounts were very much estimated, so feel free to work with it and make it perfect for YOU!*

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burgers

Ingredients:
  • 1 cup cooked black beans, smashed
  • 1 can yams (confession, I didn’t have *actual* sweet potatoes)
  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • Seasonings, to taste (I used minced onion, black pepper, red pepper flakes, garlic, oregano, paprika, and chili powder)
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 egg substitute (I used Ener-G egg replacer, but feel free to get creative!)
Directions:
  1.  Combine the yams/sweet potatoes and black beans.  A food processor would be awesome for this, if you’ve got one!  I unfortunately had to use a fork, so it took a while!
  2. Add in (cooled!) quinoa and “egg.”  Stir to combine.
    IMG_3604
  3. Season mixture to taste.
  4. Add cornstarch (adjust depending on how wet your mixture seems—you want it to hold together!).
  5. Form into patties.
  6.  Cook over medium heat in a skillet, greased with cooking spray, for appr. five minutes per side.
  7. Enjoy!!

IMG_3605

Share your TO&E!

