“The more that you read, the more things you will know….”

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go!” -Dr. Seuss

The Lord knows I’m an unbelievably busy person.  With all of the craziness I pursue (I’m truly a glutton for punishment), I find myself struggling to find time for one of my all-time favourite pastimes:  reading.  That’s why my 2015 Reading Challenge has become a part of my 101 in 1,001 list, instead of a year-long endeavour.

That being said, I’m hoping to remedy this in the coming year (new year, new me and all of that).  I’m a firm believer that definitive goals are necessary for successful goals, so I’m up for sharing my steps for just that.

IMG_0626

Allow for some leeway.  One issue I ran into with the initial challenge was getting stuck in a sort of rut.  When I came across a new book that interested me, I felt guilty for wanting to read it just because it wasn’t part of the list I’d made up!  This makes my goal of 101 books (though more generic) far more attainable.

Consider productive reading.  While reading is inherently enjoyable, not all works you pick up have to be for pleasure!  I find myself reading for class all of the time— once I remind myself that it’s a built-in opportunity to read, it’s a lot less daunting!  The same concept is true when I buy a book like Kon Mari’s the life-changing magic of tidying up.  By reading it, I’m improving an aspect of my life.  How can I deny myself the time to do that?

Ask for recommendations!  I find that when a friend or family member suggests I read a book, I’m both more excited to read it and more likely to finish it in a timely manner.  The thrill of discussing it with them after is amazing motivation and a great way to strengthen relationships!

Find books made into movies.  I will only let myself watch a movie made from a book if I’ve read the book prior (with a few minor exceptions). If I’m really looking forward to seeing the film, I’ll definitely want to finish the book!

Remember why you want to read.  For me, reading was my first love.  It’s never lost that magic for me, and I want to experience that as much as I can.  Whatever your reasoning, keeping your goal in sight will keep you on track.

Now, time to put these steps into action!  🙂

6 thoughts on ““The more that you read, the more things you will know….”

  1. Emily says:

    YES!!! I can’t express how much I love this. I strive to read 50 books every year. College usually gets in the way. In 2014, I made it to 40. This year, I might make it to 39 (UGH that odd number makes me angry). I find myself doing all of these things. I loved that challenge you posted earlier this year, but I found it really intimidating. I like how you’ve translated it. It would still be cool to keep track so that you can check books off the 2015 challenge, because it will be a fun accomplishment!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your TO&E!

