“Thank you for the music….”

“So I say, ‘Thank you for the music, the songs I’m singing; thanks for all the joy they’re bringing.  Who can live without it?’ I ask in all honesty, ‘What would life be?  Without a song or a dance, what are we?’ So I say, ‘thank you for the music, for giving it to me….'” -ABBA, Thank You For The Music

As you may know, here at TO&E, we really like music.  It serves as memory, as communication, as a conveyance of feeling.

Today’s a special day in my family, and as such it’s only right to celebrate with some music.

Today makes the birthday of two very special people in my life, my grandfather, featured here before, and his sister-in-law, my Aunt Barb.  Throughout my childhood, these were two of the most influential people in my life.

One influence was on my musical tastes.  In both cases, car rides proved decisive.  Pop would take me to softball games, doctors’ appointments, and on general errands with him and Nanny:  in the process, they introduced me to the oldies I now cherish.  Aunt Barb was my ride home from school throughout middle school, and deepened my love for a variety of artists, simply by bringing them along for the ride.

Here’s a few of the pieces that still make me think of them:

From Pop:

From Aunt Barb:

In honor of two great people and today, their shared birthday, I’d like to thank them for their music, for giving it to me.  Happy Birthday, Pop and Aunt Barb— I love and miss you both!

Share your TO&E!

