“Mental wounds not healing, who and what’s to blame?”

“Heirs of a cold war, that’s what we’ve become;  Inheriting troubles, I’m mentally numb. Crazy, I just cannot bear…. I’m living with something that just isn’t fair…. Mental wounds not healing, who and what’s to blame? I’m goin’ off the rails on a crazy train….” –Crazy Train, Ozzy Osbourne

Several doctor’s visits and countless hours in bed later, I’m still sick.

The diagnosis has changed from sinus infection to “just a cold” to “maybe pneumonia?” to upper respiratory infection more times than I can count.  Several prescriptions later, we’ve settled on the latter and I’m finally starting to feel like I might be starting to get better.

Luckily for me, the last few days coincided with what Gettysburg calls “Reading Days,” the closest thing we have to a “Fall Break” (Gettysburg doesn’t really like the concept of breaks), coinciding either right before or right after midterms.  For the first time in my student-hood, I decided to journey home for reading days (about half of the student body does so).  As much as I adore Gettysburg, months of sickness and fatigue, stress and homesickness led me to just want my mom and my puppy.

And that’s just what I got.

Cooper bonded with Sleepy Eevee.

Cooper bonded with Sleepy Eevee.

And got a Donut :) (I, of course, enjoyed an iced tea!)

And got a Donut 🙂 (I, of course, enjoyed an iced tea!)

Mom and Dad took care of me and put up with my late-night coughing fits <3

Mom and Dad took care of me and put up with my late-night coughing fits ❤

So I took them to my favourite place in the world.

So I took them to my favourite place in the world.

Dad and Rachel took to some artistic endeavors upon arriving in Gettysburg

Dad and Rachel took to some artistic endeavors upon arriving in Gettysburg

With awfully impressive results.

With awfully impressive results.

In short, this was probably the hardest time I have had coming back to school.

FullSizeRender

Share your TO&E!

