“Sweet tea, pecan pie, and homemade wine where the peaches grow….”

“Well I was raised up beneath the shade of a Georgia Pine, and that’s home you know:  sweet tea, pecan pie, and homemade wine where the peaches grow.  And my house, it’s not much to talk about, but it’s filled with love that’s grown in southern ground, and a little bit of chicken fried, cold beer on a Friday night, a pair of jeans that fir just right, and the radio up…. I love to see the sun rise, see the love in my woman’s eyes, feel the touch of a precious child, and know a mother’s love….”  Chicken Fried, Zac Brown Band

While your resident vegan here at TO&E isn’t one for fried chicken (though buffalo cauliflower is to die for!), I absolutely adore home-cooked meals [only a subtle hint to my family in regards to care packages :)].

That’s one reason that I was so excited to try out My Spiritual Roadtrip‘s Vibrant Health Recipe Book.  When Kate first reached out to me, I couldn’t wait to try nearly every one of the recipes inside this gem.

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 1.10.54 AM

In a slightly more plausible endeavor, I grabbed my best friend/chauffeur, Sam, and headed to the supermarket to test (and taste!) some of our favourites!  A few trips from the car, a playfully messy kitchen, and a few dozen Disney songs later, we were satisfied!

We prefaced it all with some vegan mac and cheese from Earth Balance--- neither of us had eaten yet today, and we were feeling enthusiastic!

We prefaced it all with some vegan mac and cheese from Earth Balance— neither of us had eaten yet today, and we were feeling enthusiastic!

We started preparing Fries and Avo Dip and worked on drinks while the oven preheated.  We even picked up some adorable mason jar cups to get the full effect!

IMG_2409

Pictured: Pineapple Coconut Cocktail

Sam’s somehow even pickier than I am, but even he loved the food and drink we made.

The fries and avocado dip were a fast favoruite!

The fries and avocado dip were a fast favoruite!

Half a dozen recipes in, we were hooked— we’re still making drinks and snacks whenever we have a spare moment!

Detox Green Tea has quickly become a staple!

Detox Green Tea has quickly become a staple!

Want to get hooked yourself?  Enter our giveaway to win your own copy of The Vibrant Health Recipe Book!  It ends at midnight, so do so while you can!

In the meantime, check out a sneak-peek below, plus some more pictures from Sam and my cooking efforts!

Property of Kate Horodyski, My Spiritual Roadtrip, The Vibrant Health Recipe Book

Property of Kate Horodyski, My Spiritual Roadtrip, The Vibrant Health Recipe Book

Share your TO&E!

