Greetings from Dixie!

According to The Lincoln Financial FoundationDixie was a favourite song of President Abraham Lincoln’s.  The site quotes him as saying on April 10, 1865 (just hours after Lee’s surrender to Grant at Appomattox [though Gregory Downs would argue that the war was hardly over],

“I have always thought ‘Dixie’ one of the best tunes I have ever heard.  Our adversaries over the way attempted to appropriate it, but I insisted yesterday that we fairly captured it…I now request the band to favor me with its performance.”  -Abraham Lincoln

I’m writing to you this fine morning from a gorgeous (single!) hotel room in Richmond, Virginia.  Aside from a visit to my Naval cousin in Norfolk many years ago and a few sporadic trips to Maryland/New Jersey, this is the longest I’ve spent South of the Mason Dixon in about a decade!

I may have been transported into a Home Alone film.

I may have been transported into a Home Alone film.

Now, I’m not sitting here sipping sweet tea and listening to someone drawl about the Lost Cause (that was purposefully an absurd stereotype, I promise!).  Instead, I’ll be touring Petersburg National Battlefield, Pamplin National Park, and Richmond (the state’s capitol) itself!

For now, though, time to enjoy a cup of coffee to start a long day!

IMG_1061

4 thoughts on “Greetings from Dixie!

Share your TO&E!

