“Let’s get down to business….”

“Let’s get down to business to defeat the huns.  Did they send me daughters when I asked for sons? You’re the saddest bunch I ever met, but you can bet before we’re through— mister, I’ll make a man out of you….” –I’ll Make A Man Out of You, Mulan

Ah, Disney.  To many people, these songs, films, and parks take them back to a happier time, before marriages and groceries and mortgages took over their thoughts.  Nostalgia’s great and all, but why make the memories stay in the past?

Adulting is hard.  Budgeting and working and bills and trying to find a moment of time for yourself?  I’ve yet to hit twenty, but I acknowledge the difficulty, and I don’t foresee that changing in years to come.  Maybe I’m just absurdly cynical, but I sometimes need some motivation to do even the most basic tasks.

In this case, I like to play off of this lovely nostalgia with my most-played playlist:  “Let’s Get Down To Business.”  Whether I’m struggling to bring myself to edit a paper, wash thedishes, or balance my checkbook, Captain LiShang and his friends are there to save the day. I’m not going to send you through the entire two-hour playlist, but enjoy these highlights!

Of course, the title song is a necessity.

Of course, the title song is a necessity.

I've loved Ricky Martin for more than a decade.  His new album, Adios, is everything I'd hoped and more, and the title song is perfect.  I've listened to the English version enough that I can pretty much understand the Spanish!

I’ve loved Ricky Martin for more than a decade. His new album, Adios, is everything I’d hoped and more, and the title song is perfect. I’ve listened to the English version enough that I can pretty much understand the Spanish! “Te tengo que decir adiós….”

There's something about Aaron Tveit Aaron Tveit-ing that is incredibly inspiring.

There’s something about Aaron Tveit Aaron Tveit-ing that is incredibly inspiring.

Lucy Hale is essentially the epitome of perfection.  While the

Lucy Hale is essentially the epitome of perfection. While the “Cinderella Story” theme very well could have ended with Hilary Duff, Lucy’s worth it. This one‘s great for the gym, too— it’s my go-to lifting song!

Fitting, considering the difficulties of adulting, yes?

Fitting, considering the difficulties of adulting, yes?

“You’re shaking that money maker like a heartbreaker, like your college major was twisting and tearing up Friday nights….” Obviously the same as History/English/Civil War/Public History, right? Also, both Rhett and this music video are adorable.

And the grande fromage, Emmett and Elle.  This song is my mantra for just about everything, and guess what?  It works.

And the grande fromage, Emmett and Elle. This song is my mantra for just about everything, and guess what? It works. “This chip on my shoulder makes me smarter and bolder, no more whining or blaming, I am reclaiming my pride! Grab that book and let’s do this, instead of doodling hearts all through this, now there’s a chip on my shoulder—let’s see him knock it aside….”

With these as the soundtrack, defeating the huns is easy.

One thought on ““Let’s get down to business….”

Share your TO&E!

