Mugcake Pancakes

After yesterday’s rather intense philosophical TO&E, I thought we could take it easy with a yummy recipe!

IMG_0856

Normally, I’m a huge fan of smoothies, especially on workdays.  Natalie the blender works overtime to blend almond milk, frozen berries, spinach, protein powder, tofu, and whatever else I feel like the evening before to make a yummy, relatively healthy breakfast drink.

However, I also have a terrible addiction to carbs (don’t get me started on french fries, I beg you.).  So, when grocery shopping on my first day back in Gettysburg, I grabbed a box of Bisquick.

At the same time, I’m often a lot lazier than I’d like to admit.  Granted, much of that translates to “my joints hurt and I don’t want to walk down four flights of stairs to the kitchen,” but I’m still not a fan.  That’s where the mugcake pancake comes in!

I was initially inspired by this recipe when I had a craving for pancakes, but not for the excess of stairs that stood between us.  Substituting almond/soy milk, I doubled the recipe at first.  THAT IS A LOT OF PANCAKE.  Carb addict or not, there is such a thing as too much pancake.  I’ve gotten to the point now that I can “eyeball” (thanks, Rachael Ray!) the recipe, to about 1 1/2 what the inspiration recipe makes [because math is far too complicated].  Drizzle it with a bit of maple syrup, add a delicious cup of coffee and you’re good to go!

Try the original recipe yourself, or veganify like I did, and let me know how it turns out!

IMG_0857

2 thoughts on “Mugcake Pancakes

Share your TO&E!

