Organize, Agitate, Educate: #3 “Stuff”

English teachers and grammar lovers alike cringe at the word.  In this case, though, it works.

How to organize all of the material possessions that can only be categorized thus?  It’s an art.

In a dorm room, there’s limited space for stuff.  I’ve lucked out this year, with one of the larger rooms on campus, but that won’t last forever.  Only about a month more, actually.  In fact, I’ve got some major minimalizing to come in the near future!

For now, here’s how I organize “stuff.”

Clothes:
I’m a girl.  I’ve got plenty of them.  Luckily, my closet’s pretty big in my current room!

Admittedly, this may be a bit much.  Tops are organized by sleeve length, style, then colour, and put to the left.  Dresses are organized by colour to the right.  The simplest addition, though, is the hangers:  all the same colour, and facing the same way.  It makes a world of difference!

Admittedly, this may be a bit much. Tops are organized by sleeve length, style, then colour, and put to the left. Dresses are organized by colour to the right. The simplest addition, though, is the hangers: all the same colour, and facing the same way. It makes a world of difference!

This is what my closet normally looks like to visitors, though.

This is what my closet normally looks like to visitors, though.

A vast majority of the rest of my clothes are in these fun little built-in drawers:  t-shirts, leggings, pants, pajamas, etc..

A vast majority of the rest of my clothes are in these fun little built-in drawers: t-shirts, leggings, pants, pajamas, etc..

Gym clothes & jeans hang out in these cabinets (decorated by my wonderful roommate!)

Gym clothes & jeans hang out in these cabinets (decorated by my wonderful roommate!)

My shoe collection is miniscule compared to many, or so Hollywood claims.

My shoe collection is miniscule compared to many, or so Hollywood claims.

These drawers hide out with my shoes.  The top drawer houses the fun stuff, makeup, perfume.... The second drawer is medical supplies (band-aids, pain killers, vitamins---there's also a crate under the bed with lesser-used items, like cold pills and Pepto).  Third drawer is as close to miscelaneous as I get--- lotion, sunscreen, sunglasses, and travel toiletries.

These drawers hide out with my shoes. The top drawer houses the fun stuff, makeup, perfume…. The second drawer is medical supplies (band-aids, pain killers, vitamins—there’s also a crate under the bed with lesser-used items, like cold pills and Pepto). Third drawer is as close to miscelaneous as I get— lotion, sunscreen, sunglasses, and travel toiletries.

Books:
I love books, if you haven’t noticed.  They tend to become my biggest storage problem, if I’m not careful.

Aren't they pretty?

Aren’t they pretty?

The top shelves are my personal books, alphabetized by author.

The top shelves are my personal books, alphabetized by author.

The papers in between Kennedy & Lindaman are "Simplify" by Abby from Just A Girl and Her Blog--- if you take my advice on anything, check out this e-book, the printables are amazing!

The papers in between Kennedy & Lindaman are “Simplify” by Abby from Just A Girl and Her Blog— if you take my advice on anything, check out this e-book, the printables are amazing!

The bottom right shelf houses books for class (plus War & Peace, and my teeny tiny reference section).  "Textbooks" are organized by class (which are organized by when they meet), then alphabetically by author.

The bottom right shelf houses books for class (plus War & Peace, and my teeny tiny reference section). “Textbooks” are organized by class (which are organized by when they meet), then alphabetically by author.

The bottom left takes a break from books (shocking, I know!)  The Sims and my disc drive meet up with my speaker and camera here, plus Dead Cat and Chirpy Bird make their homes here.

The bottom left takes a break from books (shocking, I know!) The Sims and my disc drive meet up with my speaker and camera here, plus Dead Cat and Chirpy Bird make their homes here.

Unbelievable, right?

Unbelievable, right?

Yes, “stuff,” encompasses far more than books and clothes.  But these most clearly demonstrate the strategies I use throughout everything else:

  • Can you colour-coordinate it?  Then do it.
  • Can you alphabetize it?  Then do it.
  • Can you otherwise categorize it?  Then do it.

Check out posts #1 and #2 here and here!

Share your TO&E!

