“Just what makes that little old ant think he can move that rubber tree plant?” #TFT

“Next time you’re found with your chin on the ground, there’s a lot to be learned, so look around! Just what makes that little old ant think he’ll move that rubber tree plant? Anyone knows an ant can’t move a rubber tree plant, but he’s got high hopes, he’s got high hopes;  he’s got high apple pie in the sky hopes.  So any time you’re gettin’ low, ‘stead of lettin’ go, just remember that ant…. Oops, there goes another rubber tree plant….” -Frank Sinatra, High Hopes

This song, along with the wonderful Frank’s Greatest Hits, immediately brings to mind images of car rides with my grandparents.

When I was very young, my mom and I lived with her parents, and they and I have been unusually close ever since.

 381899_286737704690265_1020100206_n

Though they’ve both had a tremendous impact on me, this particular post is about my grandfather (Nan’ll get her own soon enough!).

Pop and I have plenty of memories. When I was little, he and I had a tradition of recording tapes (yes, on a little cassette recorder!) together.  Even today, “This is Pop-pop signing off!  This is Julia, signing off!”

149468_388725127824855_730563256_n

Pop and I after my high school’s production of “The Pajama Game.”

He & I share a love of books.

Post-book sale :)

Post-book sale 🙂

Possibly the most notable of his inspiration is my love of history;  I don’t know if I would have discovered my love of Gettysburg without him.

320275_286737931356909_1173285363_n

From music to books to presidents, I owe plenty to Pop.

1512699_700021756695189_701979720_n

Thank you, Pop, for everything!

One thought on ““Just what makes that little old ant think he can move that rubber tree plant?” #TFT

Share your TO&E!

