“Someday, when we are wiser, when the world’s older, when we have learned….

“Someday, when we are wiser, when the world’s older, when we have learned…. I pray someday we may yet live to live and let live…. Someday life will be fairer, need will be rarer, greed will not pay. God speed, this bright millenium on its way, let it come, someday.” –Someday, The Hunchback of Notre Dame

How often in life do we say “Ah, I’ll do that someday…”? For me, it’s insanely common. Granted, it tends to be followed by “when I marry Prince Harry….” but that’s another story.

I mean, c'mon....

I mean, c’mon….

Regardless, the sentiment is the same.

I’ve long had a Pinterest board dedicated to this “Someday,” filled with ideas of shopping in Paris, adopting a shelter pet, and getting my Tiffany ring set (I never said these were all super-feasible dreams, did I?).  Recently, I discovered Bucketlist.org.

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 4.02.12 PM

It’s super user-friendly, utilizes categories quite similarly to WordPress, and has tons of suggestions.  Had I realized how much I want to feed a giraffe before? Nope!

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 4.04.39 PM

Need to remedy this ASAP!

Aside from giving me a bunch more “Somedays,” this sight’s been eye-opening in another way.  The word “privilege” is thrown around ceaselessly lately, and #blessed is hardly used unironically.  Yet, how privileged and blessed are we, really?  Seeing some of these goals that so many people have is humbling, really.

Tons of people take Disney trips for granted, and I’ve always felt a little inferior for never having been there myself.  But how about the people who include “Graduate high school” on their bucket list?  Sure, that could be attributed to students who just can’t wait to get out of there.  Otherwise?  How about someone who legitimately never had a chance to graduate?

Or “See Snow Fall?” I’ve posted repeatedly about how much I despise winter, but I didn’t do so considering all those people who’ve never experienced it.

My friend recently informed me that her boyfriend has never seen a kitten before.  What??

One of my favourite high school teachers once told me “Perspective is everything,” and it’s kind of my life motto.  In the case of “Someday,” it’s especially true.

7 thoughts on ““Someday, when we are wiser, when the world’s older, when we have learned….

  1. Emily says:

    I love this post!! Fantastic job. Plus your use of the song lyrics. “Someday” is my favorite song – ever. Period. I had the opportunity to perform with one of the first professional groups to sing it in English.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Emily says:

        That’s so cool! That means you’ve heard the very beginning of the song probably, right?

        “I used to believe, in the days I was naive, that I’d live to see a day of justice dawn. And though I will die long before that morning comes, I’ll die while believing still: it will come when I am gone.”

        Those lyrics are included in the German version heard in Hunchback but not in a lot of professional recordings, such as the one by Celtic Women. It is SUCH a great piece. I did, thanks! 🙂

        Like

      • Emily says:

        It makes the song kind of dark, but so beautiful. I wish I could find a link to the recording I have for you! I will look on YouTube. The German version is the one we used or rehearsal because it’s the full song and in four parts, but I love the Celtic Women version, too!

        Like

Share your TO&E!

