“Her speech is nothing, Yet the unshaped use of it doth move The hearers to collection.”

In this post, I mentioned a piece I’d written in high school English, and the lovely Emily of The View from Duffy Square said she’d be interested in reading it!
Some background:  We were asked to imitate Hamlet’s soliloquy.

While many chose to give the assignment a humourous spin, I took it pretty seriously, as any Shakespeare fan of my magnitude rightly should.  I thought I’d play around with the idea of a piece from Ophelia‘s point of view, and ended up really liking the final product!

And so, without further ado, here’s Ophelia’s Soliloquy!

OpheliasSoliloquy (1)-page-001

3 thoughts on ““Her speech is nothing, Yet the unshaped use of it doth move The hearers to collection.”

  1. Emily says:

    Aww you mentioned me! Your soliloquy is SO GOOD. I was completely blown away. Fantastic job! I hope you’ll submit it to a contest or maybe to a literary journal or something. I really enjoyed reading your work. Thanks so much for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your TO&E!

