Everytime that you lose it, swing it for the world!

Yes, I’m aware that the above lyrics are incorrect- I promise it’s purposeful!

My roommate’s a dancer- has been for years, and is quite good at it.  Last semester, I went to the dance ensemble showcase to see her and was blown away by the talent hiding on campus.

Aside from my appreciation of what they were doing, I felt an overwhelming pang of nostalgia for my theater days.  I’d covered a little bit of everything from the waltz and tango to swing and jazz-like choreography, and while I was never great at it, it was fun (lack of coordination + dancing doesn’t usually equal grace).  Watching these dancers, I found myself jealous of their elegance, but most prominently of their being on stage.

As I explained this to my roommate, she suggested what must have seemed obvious to anyone who isn’t me:  why not join dance ensemble?

Despite extreme reservations, this idea stuck with me until a few weeks ago, when the drop/add period for dance classes began.  She sent me the list of classes and I found myself drawn to swing dance- I’d loved the bit I’d learned in “The Pajama Game,”  and I’d always been better (or so I told myself) when I had a partner.  I debated up until minutes before the first class, and finally decided to listen to what my mom had always told me:  “Step outside of your box, Jul.”

As my first class began, I was terrified, to put it lightly.  With the exception of one other girl, everyone else had come fully prepared, with a partner and, in most cases, experience from last semester.  I latched onto a pair for the day, and quickly realized that- good at it or not- I loved it.

Image compliments of http://eurenscene.eu/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/AitorNuria2.jpg  (This is actually a step included in our performance!)

Image compliments of http://eurenscene.eu/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/AitorNuria2.jpg
(This is actually a step included in our performance!)

I’ve stumbled over steps, been absolutely petrified over lifts, and hit my partner in the face (accidentally, of course!) countless times.  Despite this, I’ve had fits of laughter and goofy practice sessions that I’ll doubtlessly remember as some of my favourite experiences from freshman year.  I’ve even started a jazz class- even farther from my comfort zone, in a way.

Now that I’ve (quite literally) stepped out of my comfort zone, I’m insanely glad I did it.  Could I have hurt myself terribly that first night and regretted it? Sure.  Did that actually happen? Nope!  As long as nothing changes terribly, I’m sure I’ll be just as happy with my decision.

Check out last year’s swing routine here for an idea of what I’ll be doing!

One thought on “Everytime that you lose it, swing it for the world!

Share your TO&E!

